top of page

About

Casa Poerava is a family story, a story of the heart. Here is the very essence...

Image de Jeff Siepman

It all starts with a Belgian story

 

My godmother was quite a character! 

Although Belgian, she lived half of each year in Corsica, falling in love with the island from an early age. She had the house built in 1968 but had also planted vines there, to make her own wine... according to her, the water should only be used to take her medication!

Independent, strong and a little crazy around the edges, Denyse had fascinated my mother, Nouchka, to the point of asking her to be my godmother, a bit like Cinderella's without really admitting it. They had met during an exhibition in Ajaccio, my mother being a painter.

Our relationship only really started after I was 13, my godmother was not a "fan" of children. From that day, she had a significant impact on my life, very present. In addition to the trips we often made to France or Italy, I spent almost all my vacations with her. His house has become my refuge.

Some time before closing her eyes definitively, she asked me what to do with this property, having no longer had a family for a long time. We joked about imagining her in a cat shelter, "her makeshift companions", as she put it.

But she had decided otherwise.

2015%2007%2005_0130_edited.jpg

A pearl story

 

You are certainly wondering: why "Casa Poerava"? This is where my parents, Gilles and Tania, come in.

Both have traveled the world, for pleasure or duty. Met in Bastia when I was little, it was in Tahiti that they first left and got married. My father was a teacher at the time, and Tania ran a pearl farm, among other things. Yes, black pearls. 

After many other trips, and following the death of my godmother, they settled in the house and did a lot of work there to give it a new character. Tania had "cut the mountain" as we like to say, my father installed the swimming pool and they transformed the house so that it took on a facelift before naming it "Casa Poerava": the house of the black Pearl !

In China, the natural black pearl was considered a true symbol of wisdom. A more colorful version says that the Pearls are the exclusive encounter of a rainbow with the earth. What could be more beautiful than a symbol of love and wisdom to baptize a house? His identity was chosen.

mains tenant

A story for two

 

This house, today, is ours. The cozy cocoon where we build our life, our memories.

"We" is my companion, Régis, and me, Sophie-Fleur. I inherited this property. He adopted her.

We hope to be able to transmit to you, through the few days that you could spend with us, all the well-being that this house inspires in us. In any case, we are working on it and putting our hearts into it!

bottom of page

À Propos

Casa Poerava, c'est une histoire de famille, une histoire de cœur. En voici l'essence même...

Image de Jeff Siepman

Tout commence par une histoire belge

 

Ma marraine, c'était un sacré personnage ! 

Bien que Belge, elle vivait la moitié de chaque année en Corse, tombée amoureuse de l'île dès son plus jeune âge. Elle a fait construire la maison en 1968 mais y avait aussi planté des vignes, pour faire son propre vin... selon elle, l'eau ne devait servir qu'à prendre ses médicaments !

Indépendante, forte et un peu loufoque sur les bords, Denyse avait fasciné ma mère, Nouchka, au point de lui demander d'être ma marraine, un peu à la manière de celle de Cendrillon sans l'avouer vraiment. Elles s'étaient rencontrées lors d'une exposition à Ajaccio, ma mère étant artiste peintre.

Nos relations n'ont réellement commencé qu'après mes 13 ans, ma marraine n'était pas "fan" des enfants. De ce jour, elle eut un impact important sur ma vie, très présente. En plus des virées que nous faisions souvent en France ou en Italie, j'ai passé presque toutes mes vacances avec elle. Sa maison est devenu mon refuge.

Quelques temps avant de fermer les yeux définitivement, elle me demandait quoi faire de cette propriété, n'ayant plus de famille depuis bien longtemps. Nous plaisantions en l'imaginant en refuge pour chats, "ses compagnons de fortune", comme elle disait.

Mais elle en avait décidé autrement.

2015%2007%2005_0130_edited.jpg

Une histoire de perle

 

Vous vous demandez certainement : pourquoi "Casa Poerava" ? C'est là qu'interviennent mes parents, Gilles et Tania.

Tous les deux ont parcouru le monde, par plaisir ou devoir. Rencontrés à Bastia quand j'étais petite, c'est à Tahiti qu'ils sont tout d'abord partis et se sont mariés. Mon père était à l'époque professeur, et Tania a, entre autre, dirigé une ferme perlière. Eh oui, des perles noires. 

Après de nombreux autres périples, et suite au décès de ma marraine, ils se sont installés dans la maison et y ont fait de nombreux travaux afin de lui donner un nouveau cachet. Tania a fait "couper la montagne" comme nous nous amusons à dire, mon père a implanté la piscine et ils ont transformé la maison pour qu'elle prenne un sacré coup de jeune avant de la nommer "Casa Poerava" : la maison de la perle noire !

En Chine, la perle noire naturelle était considérée comme un véritable symbole de sagesse. Une version plus colorée raconte que les Perles sont la rencontre exclusive d’un arc-en-ciel avec la terre. Quoi de plus beau qu'un symbole d'amour et de sagesse pour baptiser une maison ? Son identité était choisie.

mains tenant

Une histoire à deux

 

Cette maison, aujourd'hui, c'est la nôtre. Le cocon douillet où nous construisons notre vie, nos souvenirs.

"Nous", c'est mon compagnon, Régis, et moi, Sophie-Fleur. J'ai hérité de cette propriété. Il l'a adoptée.

Nous espérons arriver à vous transmettre, au travers des quelques jours que vous pourriez passer chez nous, tout le bien-être que cette maison nous inspire. En tout cas nous y travaillons et y mettons tout notre cœur !